The New York State Department of Labor (NYSDOL) helps collect wages owed to citizen and non-citizen workers who have not received the minimum wage. Once a claim is filed, the NYSDOL investigates and endeavors to collect on claims for:
- Unpaid wages
- Withheld wages
- Illegal deductions
The NYSDOL also enforces the rules that forbid employers from:
- Taking illegal kickbacks from wages
- Appropriating tips
Visit the NYSDOL Labor Standards web site to learn about your rights as a worker in the State.
As of April 9, 2011, a change in the New York State Labor Law gives even more protection to employees who complain to their employer about violations or who report violations to the Department of Labor:
New York's current minimum wage of $8.00 an hour is below that of 19 other states and prior adjustments have not kept up with increases in the cost of living.
Governor Cuomo has raised the minimum wage to $8.00 an hour.